Packers Playoff Picture: What History Tells Us About Green Bay as Every Seed

« Prev
1 of 15
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Packers Playoff Picture: What History Tells Us About Green Bay as Every Seed
Jamie Squire/Getty Images

The Green Bay Packers have won an unprecedented 13 NFL titles. No team has won more. However, the Packers won 11 of those championships before 1970, when the wild card came into play in the postseason of the NFL.

In 1970, the three division winners and the non-division-winning team (the wild card) with the best won-loss percentage qualified for the playoffs. A predetermined post-season schedule was produced that rotated the home teams based on divisions, regardless of winning percentage.

The 1972 Packers, who won the NFC Central that year with a 10-4 record, played under these playoff rules. The Packers had to travel to Washington that year and lost to the Redskins 16-3. The '72 Packers were coached by Dan Devine.

In 1978, the NFL adopted a new 16-game schedule. An additional wild card team in each conference was added to the playoffs with the two wild cards going at it during the first weekend of the post-season.

These rules were thrown out the window in 1982, when there was a player's strike that interrupted the season. The NFL instead used a Super Bowl tournament in the postseason.

The Packers were 5-3-1 in 1982, and won the first postseason game at Lambeau Field since the Ice Bowl in 1967, by defeating the St. Louis Cardinals 41-16.

The Packers lost the next weekend on the road to the Dallas Cowboys, 37-26. The '82 Packers were coached by Bart Starr.

In 1990, two more wild card teams were added to the equation. That meant that each conference would have three wild card teams, along with the three division winners in each conference. There would be 12-of-28  teams in playoffs under those rules.

Then, in 2002, the league expanded to 32 teams, the NFL realigned into eight four-team divisions.

The playoff format included four division winners and two wild card teams from each conference. The Wild Card games that kick off the post-season play feature two division winners hosting wild card teams.

Those rules still apply today in the postseason.

The Packers currently are 8-4 so far this season, and are the No. 3 seed in the NFC, if the playoffs were held today. They are in 1st place in the NFC North, tied with the Chicago Bears. The Packers hold the tiebreaker however, due to a better divisional record, plus have beaten da Bears once this season already.

There are four games left in the 2012 season for the Packers, including another date with Chicago at Soldier Field on December 16th.

It's hard to say where the Packers will be seeded once the regular season ends, but the Packers want to try and get up to No. 2 seed, which would mean a bye the first weekend of the playoffs. 

I'm going to look at where the Packers were seeded from 1993-2011 (14 playoff appearances), and how the Packers did in the postseason, based on those seeds.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow Chicago Bears from B/R on Facebook

Follow Chicago Bears from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Chicago Bears

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.