WWE Survivor Series 2012 logoWWE Survivor Series 2012

WWE Survivor Series: Final Pay-Per-View Match Results and Thoughts

CM Punk (right) with Paul Heyman (left). (Photo credit: WWE.com)
CM Punk (right) with Paul Heyman (left). (Photo credit: WWE.com)
Daniel PeragineSenior Analyst IINovember 19, 2012

WWE Survivor Series will go down as the night each defending title holder stepped up with a huge performance to keep their most precious prize: the belt around their waist.

Survivor Series was headlined by Team Ziggler vs. Team Foley and a three-way match between CM Punk, John Cena and Ryback for the WWE Championship.

Below are the Survivor Series pay-per-view match results and thoughts on the outcome:


Heath Slater and Jinder Mahal defeated Santino Marella and Zack Ryder.

If the WWE wants to make Slater and Mahal a legitimate, heel tag team group, both needed a victory over Marella and Ryder. Survivor Series was an important step towards making that happen.


Rey Mysterio, Sin Cara, Brodus Clay, Justin Gabriel, and Tyson Kidd defeated The Prime Time Players, Primo, Epico and Tensai.

The Traditional Survivor Series Elimination tag team match was a nice way to kick off the pay-per-view. WWE got off on the right foot with having the babyfaces sealing the victory.


Eve defeated Kaitlyn to retain the WWE Divas Championship.


At Survivor Series, I was really hoping to see Kaitlyn finally break through after setbacks in her career to capture the Divas title. However, thanks to a pre-match attack backstage by Aksana, Eve was able to nail the win to retain the title. Questions now arise as to where Kaitlyn goes next after her loss.


Antonio Cesaro defeated R-Truth to retain the WWE United States Championship.

There was no need to switch the title over to R-Truth. WWE played it safe by having Cesaro retain the title.


Sheamus defeated the Big Show via disqualification. The Big Show retains the WWE World Heavyweight Championship.

The Big Show used his veteran experience to retain his title. It will be curious to see whether WWE will install a rematch between the two, as the Big Show used old tactics to survive the battle.


Team Ziggler (Dolph Ziggler, David Otunga, Alberto Del Rio, Wade Barrett, and Damien Sandow) vs. Team Foley (Randy Orton, Kane, Daniel Bryan, The Miz and Kofi Kingston).

For Team Ziggler, the match did not begin their way. However, they were able to pull themselves together and the heels landed the victory over Team Foley. Ziggler stole the show once again, being the only survivor after the match was over.


CM Punk defeated John Cena and Ryback to retain the WWE Championship.

What a wild way to close out Survivor Series. At one point during the match, three members of the WWE NXT roster came out and attacked Ryback, even slamming him through the announcers' table at ringside. This allowed Punk to retain the WWE title right before the Survivor Series pay-per-view concluded. 

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices