FIFA Puskas Award 2012: Watch All 10 Nominated Goals

Ryan Bailey@ryanjaybaileyFeatured ColumnistNovember 15, 2012

FIFA Puskas Award 2012: Watch All 10 Nominated Goals

0 of 10

    In addition to the Ballon d'Or, FIFA will also be handing out the Puskás Award on the evening of January 7, 2013 at a star-studded gala in Zurich.

    Named for the legendary Hungarian striker Ferenc Puskás, the award is given to the "most beautiful" goal scored in a calendar year.

    Neymar picked it up last year for this glorious piece of trickery and Hamit Altintop earned the gong in 2010 for this volley.

    FIFA released the 10-goal shortlist this week, the timing of which sadly does not allow for Zlatan Ibrahimovic's brilliant overhead kick against England to be considered.

    Take a look at each strike, then cast your vote for 2012's greatest goal.

Badu vs. Guinea, February

1 of 10

    Udinese defensive midfielder Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu scored this rocket during Ghana's 1-1 draw with Guinea in the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations. After this game in the group stages, Ghana went on to make the semifinals.

Hatem Ben Arfa vs. Blackburn, January

2 of 10

    Blackburn Rovers were leading 1-0 against Newcastle in the FA Cup third round when French winger Ben Arfa scored with this brilliant individual effort.

    It inspired teammate Jonas Gutierrez to give Newcastle a winner in injury time.

Radamel Falcao vs. America de Cali, May

3 of 10

    Falcao may have managed 19 goals in 19 games for club and country so far this season, but one of his best came in a friendly against Colombian side America de Cali in May.

Eric Hassli vs. Toronto, May

4 of 10

    The sole MLS representative among the nominations is Eric Hassli's tremendous volley against Toronto FC. The Reds must have been suitably impressed with the strike, as they signed the French forward two months later. 

    Hassli is no stranger to great goals. In 2011, he scored what is regarded as one of the greatest MLS goals of all time against Seattle.   

Olivia Jimenez vs. Switzerland, August

5 of 10

    The Puskás Award is open to both sexes, which earns Olivia Jimenez a well-deserved nomination. She scored this long ranger in injury time of a Women's Under-20 World Cup match against Switzerland to give Mexico a 2-0 victory.

Gastón Mealla vs. The Strongest, January

6 of 10

    Bolivian side The Strongest were forced to question their name when Nacional Potosi scored this unstoppable scorpion kick from outside the area during a game in January. 

Lionel Messi vs. Brazil, June

7 of 10

    Friendlies are not usually particularly "friendly" when the two sides involved are named Brazil and Argentina.

    Their thrilling match in June was tied at 3-3 when a young chap named Leo Messi picked up the ball near the halfway line and scored a pretty special goal to complete a hat-trick.

Neymar vs. Internacional, March

8 of 10

    2011 Puskás winner Neymar has continued his fine form in 2012, earning another nomination for this stunning one-man goal in the Libertadores Cup against Internacional.

    Could this earn the young Brazilian the coveted prize for the second consecutive year?

Moussa Sow vs. Galatasaray, March

9 of 10

    French-born Senegalese striker Moussa Sow chose the perfect stage to score the best goal of his career, an unstoppable overhead kick in the Istanbul derby between Galatasaray and Fenerbahce.

    This is one of 18 goals Sow has scored for The Yellow Canaries since transferring from Lille in January. 

Miroslav Stoch vs. Genclerbirligi, March

10 of 10

    Fenerbahce are lucky enough to boast two players with Puskás nominations, as Moussa Sow's Slovakian colleague Miroslav Stoch also makes the cut for his sublime 20-yard volley against Genclerbirligi in the Turkish Super Lig. This and Sow's goal were scored just two weeks apart.

    Vote for your favorite goal of 2012 at the FIFA website. Voting Closes November 29th 2012.