Vans Triple Crown of Surfing: 30 Years of Posters and Winners

« Prev
1 of 31
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Vans Triple Crown of Surfing: 30 Years of Posters and Winners
2011's Triple Crown Winner John John Florence. Photo: ASP/Cestari

The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing is referred to as "surfing's crown jewel." Just as horseracing's Triple Crown is comprised of three main events, so is surfing's Triple Crown. Behind winning a World Title, professional surfers say winning a Triple Crown is almost as desired. 

The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing is made up of three ASP sanctioned surf contests on the North Shore of Oahu: the Reef Hawaiian Pro at Haleiwa, the Vans World Cup of Surfing at Sunset Beach, and the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons at Pipeline

Last year, North Shore Oahu local John John Florence finally won his first Triple Crown at the ripe age of 19. Already firmly entrenched as one of the greatest surfers at Pipeline, John John will look to continue his domination on his home turf this winter. And of course, the ASP World Title will be decided at the final event, the Billabong Pipe Masters. So there will be plenty of action at this year's Triple Crown. 

The holding period for the Reef Hawaiian Pro began yesterday, starting off with a lay day. This being it's 30th year, we'll take a look back at all the iconic Vans Triple Crown of Surfing posters throughout the ages as well as that year's winner. 

So here's to the 30th year of one of surfing's most cherished string of events.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook