Roma's Mattia Destro Sent off for Almost Removing Shirt After Goal (Video)

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories

A Roman tragedy? That's a bit dramatic, but even so, this is an interesting story of youthful exuberance and a referee sticking stubbornly to the letter of the law.

Here's the skinny. The setting was (you guessed it) Rome, and the occasion was AS Roma's 4-1 home win over Palermo on Sunday at the Stadio Olimpico.

Late in the second half, 21-year-old Italy international Mattia Destro scored Roma's fourth after rounding the goalkeeper with expert control. Destro, who had already received a yellow card moments after replacing Francesco Totti, celebrated by starting to take off his shirt.

Uh oh.

As his teammates caught up to him, Destro seemed to remember that taking off his shirt would earn him another yellow card. So he stopped, with the shirt stalling around his head and never actually coming all the way off his body.

No matter. A rule is a rule—apparently even when the shirt doesn't make it all the way off—and the referee brandished the yellow card a second time. After that, he showed Destro red, and with that, Destro had been sent off moments after scoring his first goal for Roma.

The video of the incident appears above. Enjoy. It's our Set Piece Video of the Day.

Here's what Roma manager Zdenek Zeman said, per 101 Great Goals:

I still think the rule is wrong. He didn’t take the jersey off completely. I understand Destro scored his first goal for Roma and was very happy, so I hope he will score many more in future. Naturally he will be suspended now and it is damaging.

Question is, how will Destro top this celebration?

(h/t 101 Great Goals)

 

Load More Stories
AS Roma

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.