Power Ranking the Last 25 World Series Champions

« Prev
1 of 26
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Power Ranking the Last 25 World Series Champions
Chris Chambers/Getty Images

Sunday night, the San Francisco Giants became a permanent part of the history books when they swept the Detroit Tigers to win the 2012 World Series.

This year’s version of the Giants became the 108th team to win baseball’s championship and now will be judged against all the other great or near-great championship teams from the past, from the 1927 New York Yankees to the 1987 Minnesota Twins.

For starters, we are going to see just how the last 25 world champions stack up against each other.

There have been some pretty good teams the last quarter century, and cracking the top five on this list will make you an all-time great team.

 Teams were ranked on five criteria:

Win Percentage

OPS+: On-base percentage plus slugging percentage divided by league average and ballpark adjusted

ERA+: Team earned run average divided by league average and ballpark adjusted

Defensive Efficiency: Percentage of outs per plate appearance

Run Differential: Runs scored minus runs allowed

Each team was ranked in order from one to 25, and those scores were added up to get a final score, which was rated again from one to 25.

Thanks to the fine statistics at Baseball-Reference, we can actually give you an order that is based solely on numbers.

Some of you are not going to be happy, while others are going to be pleasantly surprised.

Let us know below what you think.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.