Despite Slow Starts, Which AFC East Team Will Win the Division?

« Prev
1 of 5
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Despite Slow Starts, Which AFC East Team Will Win the Division?
Jim Rogash/Getty Images

Over the past decade, the AFC East has been dominated by one team.

The New England Patriots have won the division nine of the last 11 seasons. The Miami Dolphins stole the crown most recently in 2008. Before that, the last team to win the division that didn't have Tom Brady was the New York Jets in 2002.

Meanwhile, the Buffalo Bills haven't won the division since 1995. This season, the division will likely finish tighter than any in recent memory, but the Patriots will still walk away on top.

The Bills tried to make a power-play when they signed the biggest free agent in the pool, DE Mario Williams. To this point, that hasn't seemed to help them very much. Their defense actually looks worse than it did last year.

The Miami Dolphins were supposed to finish in the cellar this year, but they refuse to go down quietly. Reggie Bush is proving every week that last year was no fluke, and rookie quarterback Ryan Tannehill has overachieved in his first year.

The Jets were dealt the short end of the injury stick when their two best players, Darrelle Revis and Santonio Holmes, went down with season-ending injuries in consecutive weeks. Despite an at-times anemic offense, they have showed that they still have the ability to make some noise.

The Patriots are playing some shaky football. They actually seem to be having trouble locking up games in the fourth quarter. While they have blown a few games and have nearly blown a few more, they are still atop the division, and they will not give up that lead very easily.

Here is a projected look at the final AFC East standings in 2012.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Team StreamTM

New England Patriots

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.