Breeders Cup: Who Will Be the Horse of the Year?

« Prev
1 of 14
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Breeders Cup: Who Will Be the Horse of the Year?
Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

As the Breeders' Cup countdown winds down, the next big topic is coming to the minds of race fans everywhere. Who is going to be Horse of the Year?

While some believe that I'll Have Another has it locked up after his Triple Crown successes, unless someone else steps up, others believe it will come down to the Breeders' Cup results.

But has the Breeders' Cup really been that important when it comes to Horse of the Year honors since the turn of the century? While it certainly looks good on a resume, it hasn't been the end-all every year.

Let's take a look at how much weight a Breeders' Cup victory has carried since Charismatic won the award in 1999.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Horse Racing

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.