Shane Watson, Chris Gayle to Head ICC 2012 World T20 Team

Manish NayakContributor IIIOctober 9, 2012

COLOMBO, SRI LANKA - OCTOBER 07:  Chris Gayle of the West Indies celebrates after winning the ICC World Twenty20 2012 Final between Sri Lanka and the West Indies at R. Premadasa Stadium on October 7, 2012 in Colombo, Sri Lanka.  (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)
Gareth Copley/Getty Images

Think of it as an all-star team that's voted by the powers that be. As an ongoing tradition, the International Cricket Council comes together and names the best players from the latest tournament.

In this case, the 2012 ICC World Twenty20, the names have been chalked up, and while most of the usual suspects are on the list, there are a couple of names that may shock you into raising an eyebrow:

The Team

The Captain was selected as Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene, who had the second highest run total with 243.

The openers were West Indian Chris Gayle and Australia's Shane Watson—both of whom were in the top four in total runs, with 222 and 249 respectively. Watson led the tournament in runs, wickets, and sixes.

India's Virat Kohli, England's Luke Wright, and the West Indies' Marlon Samuels rounded out the remaining batsmen in the middle of the order.

Australia's Mitchell Starc and Sri Lanka's Lasith Malinga were tipped as the two best fast bowlers of the tournament while Pakistan's Saeed Ajmal and Sri Lanka's Ajantha Mendis were chosen as the two spin bowlers.

Brendon McCullum of New Zealand, the lone centurion in the tournament, rounded out the side as the Wicket Keeper.

Ironically, South Africa, the team which was heavily favored to win the whole thing, had no representatives.

While most of the players on the list deserve to be there, a few like Malinga make you wonder if he was there for his name rather than his performance; while players like Marlon Samules may have made it by relying on one big knock at a crucial time.

Just like all sports, all-star selections always have snubs and lunatic decisions, so let the debates begin!