PGA Tour: 2013 Fall Series Will Look Different

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
PGA Tour: 2013 Fall Series Will Look Different
Scott Halleran/Getty Images
The PGA Tour Fall Series will change significantly in 2013

The PGA Tour Fall Series that starts this week with the Justin Timberlake Shriners Hospitals for Children Open from Las Vegas will completely change in 2013.

The tournaments that will be played after the FedEx Cup Playoffs and the Presidents Cup will actually start the 2014 PGA Tour Season.  Players will earn FedEx Cup points for 2014 in the 2013 Fall Series.

 The events that will make up the 2013 Fall Series: Open in California

Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images
Justin Timberlake will not be the Celebrity Host at the 2013 Shriners Hospital for Children Open

     Shriners Hospitals for Children Open (minus Justin Timberlake)

     Mayakoba Golf Classic from Cancun, Mexico

     McGladreyy Classic (Davis Love III hosts on Sea Island, GA)

The PGA Tour will then move overseas to Asia for the final two events in 2013.  The CIMB Classic will be held in Malaysia and the WGC-HSBC Championship in China.  The PGA Tour is going global and trying to capture some of the huge audience and dollars available in the Asian market.

2012 also brings an end to the PGA Tour’s Q-School as we currently know it.  Players will have to qualify through the Tour to make it onto the PGA Tour after this year.  No more gut wrenching, sweaty palms and ulcer-inducing missed three-foot putts to miss out on a PGA Tour card.

The severe pressure that golf professionals face as they play six rounds to earn one of the 25 PGA Tour Cards has always provided great drama.  There will be a Q-School going forward but it will be to qualify for the Tour only.

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.