AAA 400 2012 Results: Reaction, Leaders and Post Race Analysis

Rob Goldberg@TheRobGoldbergFeatured ColumnistSeptember 30, 2012

DOVER, DE - SEPTEMBER 30:  Brad Keselowski, driver of the #2 Miller Lite Dodge, celebrates with the American flag during the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series AAA 400 at Dover International Speedway on September 30, 2012 in Dover, Delaware.  (Photo by Patrick McDermott/Getty Images for NASCAR)
Patrick McDermott/Getty Images

Brad Keselowski regained the lead in the Sprint Cup Series with a big win at the AAA 400.

Amazingly, the eventual winner only led for 14 laps. Jimmie Johnson was in front of the pack for a good portion of the race, but tailed off towards the end as he was unable to win at Dover for the second time this year.

Johnson was forced to slow down late due to fuel concerns. ESPN's Marty Jones responded to a question in the affirmative when asked if the change was intentional:


Yep. Sure is. Good call. RT @dawnwilliams48: @martysmithespn I feel it's strategy by #lowes48 team

— Marty Smith (@MartySmithESPN) September 30, 2012


This seemed to be a more useful response than one Jones provided earlier in the race:


A very fast car RT @mbottom48: @martysmithespn Wthout cautions, whats it going to take to get lap back, anything? #ESPNinRace

— Marty Smith (@MartySmithESPN) September 30, 2012


Keselowski now has two victories in the past three races for the Chase for the Cup. He put himself in great position to win his first championship with only seven races remaining. 

He also tweeted this little nugget before the race began. I am sure he does not disagree five hours later.


Spoiler alert- whoever wins the race today will be the new media favorite to win championship.Lol

— Brad Keselowski (@keselowski) September 30, 2012


It was also a big day for Jeff Gordon. The veteran was the runner-up on Sunday as he attempted to get back in contention in the Chase.

Kyle Busch, who led for 302 laps, will earn two bonus points in addition to the 39 he earned for a seventh-place finish.

Pole winner Denny Hamlin continued his struggles on this track. He finished outside the top 15 three times in the last two years and an eighth-place finish did not do much to help him this year.


AAA 400 Results (via ESPN)

Pos. Driver Car Manufacturer
1 Brad Keselowski 2 Dodge
2 Jeff Gordon 24 Chevrolet
3 Mark Martin 55 Toyota
4 Jimmie Johnson 48 Chevrolet
5 Carl Edwards 99 Ford
6 Martin Truex Jr. 56 Toyota
7 Kyle Busch 18 Toyota
8 Denny Hamlin 11 Toyota
9 Clint Bowyer 15 Toyota
10 Joey Logano 20 Toyota
11 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 88 Chevrolet
12 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 6 Ford
13 Kevin Harvick 29 Chevrolet
14 Bobby Labonte 47 Toyota
15 Kasey Kahne 5 Chevrolet


Sprint Cup Standings (via FOX Sports)

Pos. Driver Points
1 Brad Keselowski 2138
2 Jimmie Johnson 2136
3 Denny Hamlin 2125
4 Clint Bowyer 2116
5 Tony Stewart 2110
6 Kasey Kahne 2110
7 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 2103
8 Martin Truex Jr. 2100
9 Kevin Harvick 2096
10 Jeff Gordon 2093
11 Greg Biffle 2091
12 Matt Kenseth 2070