Comparing the 2012 White Sox to the 2008 Playoff Team at Each Position

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Comparing the 2012 White Sox to the 2008 Playoff Team at Each Position
Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

The last time the Chicago White Sox reached the postseason was 2008, and they were led by manager Ozzie Guillen.

That team finished the season 89-74 and edged the Minnesota Twins 1-0 in the famous "black out" game to officially make the playoffs.

While this year's White Sox are not yet officially in the postseason, they do control their destiny and have a legitimate shot at getting there with under 15 games left.

There are a lot of differences and a lot of similarities—including a few of the same players—between the 2008 team and this year's team.

Still around are catcher A.J. Pierzynski and first baseman Paul Konerko—both of whom were also part of the 2005 World Series team.  They both continue to produce, even as they pass the prime of their careers.

Still there is shortstop Alexei Ramirez, who was a rookie during the 2008 campaign and played a different position for that White Sox team.

Also still around are pitchers Gavin Floyd and Matt Thornton, both of whom had big seasons in 2008 and were an integral part of the White Sox's run to the playoffs.

Both teams could hit the long ball, and while the 2008 team probably had deeper starting pitching, the 2012 squad arguably has the better bullpen and plays better defense.

In the end, the 2008 team fell three games to one to the Tampa Bay Rays in the first round of the playoffs—now we wait and see what's in store for the 2012 team.

Here's a look at how the 2012 White Sox team compares to that 2008 playoff team at each position.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow Chicago White Sox from B/R on Facebook

Follow Chicago White Sox from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Team StreamTM

Chicago White Sox

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.