2012 Street League Championship: Highlights & Course Build Timelapse

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories

Street skating has continuously evolved over the past 10 years and Rob Dyrdek's Street League has been at the forefront of this evolution. Instead of just a single competition, Dyrdek created a street skating league made up of multiple events across the United States. The 2012 Street League Series consisted of three regular season stops in Kansas City, MO, Ontario, CA and Glendale, AZ. Each winner was awarded $150,000. 

The culmination of the 2012 season was the SLS Championship, recently held at the Prudential Center in Newark, NJ. Featuring a grand prize of $200,000, the world's top-eight Street Skaters—Nyjah Huston, Chris Cole, P-Rod, Sean Malto, Ryan Sheckler, Chaz Ortiz, Luan Oliveira and Bastien Salabanzi—all battled it out in the ultimate skating arena.

Watch what goes into building these amazing courses as we showcase the 2012 Street League Championship course from its beginning through to the competition—all in just over one minute. 

Make sure to check back with Why We Watch for more from the Street League Series... 

Producers: Amir Ebrahimi, Ryan O'Leary
Editor: Amir Ebrahimi
Production Assistants: Hunter Mandel, Kevin Sprague

Footage Licensed to Street League Skateboarding

Special thanks:

Rob Dyrdek
Street League Skateboarding
Prudential Center 

Follow us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/WhyWeWatch
Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WhyWeWatch

Follow B/R on Facebook