BCS Championship-Winning QBs Since 2000: Few Have Had NFL Success

« Prev
1 of 13
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
BCS Championship-Winning QBs Since 2000: Few Have Had NFL Success
Jeff Gross/Getty Images

Winning a BCS National Championship in college is a big deal. It doesn't, however, always guarantee success in the National Football League, especially if you are a quarterback.

Since 2000, there have been 12 different championship-winning quarterbacks. Only a handful of those 12 have had significant playing time in the NFL. Fewer still are currently on an NFL roster.

This list looks at each winning quarterback from each championship game from the year 2000 on.

Some of the players on this list started for a number of games at the next level. Some have had long careers, and some have had very short careers. A few of the players never had any type of an NFL career. A small number of players on the list are currently listed as starters for their teams.

A few of the names may surprise you, as they have not been heard from for years. Some of these quarterbacks were only a product of the system they were playing in, and that's why they had success at the collegiate level.

A common theme throughout the list is that most of these quarterbacks were drafted in the last few rounds of the draft. Typically, quarterbacks who are taken late are destined to become career backups in the NFL.

As you will see, the link between collegiate championships and NFL success is pretty much non-existent.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.