Los Angeles Rams logoLos Angeles Rams

St. Louis Rams Continue Streak of 1,000-Yard Rushers

Steven Jackson
Steven JacksonStephen Dunn/Getty Images
Jerry TappSenior Analyst IIIAugust 3, 2012

Over the past dozen years, it seems that about half of the National Football League teams end the season with a 1,000-yard runner.

Last season, 15 teams had a 1,000-yard rusher. The 15 1,000-yard rushers was tied for second lowest number since 1999 when 14 runners gained 1,000 or more yards rushing (there were 15 1,000-yard rushers also in 2009). Most 1,000-yard rushers since 2000? In 2006, there were 23.

The St. Louis Rams, led by Steven Jackson, lead the NFL with seven straight seasons with a 1,000-yard rusher. The Tennessee Titans have a streak of six straight seasons, with Chris Johnson reaching that mark in the past four seasons and a pair of runners accomplishing that mark in two previous years.

A pair of teams last season had their first 1,000-yard rusher in over five years. The Denver Broncos’ Willis McGahee gained 1,199 yards on the ground, giving Denver their first 1,000-yard rusher since Tatum Bell gained 1,025 in 2006. Seattle Seahawks running back Marshawn Lynch rushed for 1,204 last season, giving the Seahawks their first 1,000-yard runner since 2005 when Shaun Alexander gained 1,880.

Following are the NFL teams that have had a 1,000-yard rusher for two or more consecutive seasons (active):


Year Streak, Team (Rushers)

7: St. Louis Rams (Steven Jackson 2005-2011)

6: Tennessee (Chris Johnson 2008-2011, LenDale White 2007, Travis Henry 2006)

3: Baltimore (Ray Rice 2009-2011)

3: Cincinnati (Cedric Benson 2009-2011)

3: Jacksonville (Maurice Jones-Drew 2009-2011)

2: Atlanta (Michael Turner 2010-2011)

2: Houston (Arian Foster 2010-2011)

2: Philadelphia (LeSean McCoy 2010-2011)


At the other end of the spectrum are the eight teams that have not had a 1,000-yard rusher in the past two seasons… and beyond. The Detroit Lions top this category; they have not had a 1,000-yard runner since 2004.

Following are the teams that have the longest current drought of 1,000-yard rushers:


Last Year with 1,000-Yard Rusher, Team (Last 1,000-Yard Runner)

2004: Detroit (Kevin Jones)

2006: Dallas (Julius Jones)

2006: New Orleans (Deuce McAllister)

2007: Indianapolis (Joseph Addai)

2008: Washington (Clinton Portis)

2009: Buffalo (Fred Jackson)

2009: Carolina (Jonathan Stewart and DeAngelo Williams)

2009: Green Bay (Ryan Grant)


Follow Jerry on Twitter @StatsonTapp

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices