Scott Heavey/Getty Images
Boxing must have felt a bit out of place these last two days, watching comparatively well-regulated sports like fencing and badminton stir up all the controversy.
Questionable officiating?!? Throwing matches?!? Hey! That's our bag.
And so, on Wednesday night/Thursday morning, boxing gave us its magnum opus of dysfunction, a decision so puzzling and unjust it left NBC commentator Teddy Atlas on the verge of a spittle-induced meltdown.
The basic rundown:
Azerbaijan's Magomed Abdulhamidov is leading Japanese fighter Satoshi Shimizu in the closing minutes of a third-round bantamweight bout on Wednesday evening.
Shimizu sees an opening and wounds Abdulhamidov—badly, to the point where it appears the Azerbaijani fighter can no longer continue.
The referee refuses to issue a count or call the fight. Six separate times, Abdulhamidov goes down. Six separate times, no count.
The savagery continues until the final bell, whereby Abdulhamidov is declared the winner on points. It's clear the referee was simply trying to get the wounded fighter to the finish line so that he could advance on decision.
Don't believe me? Watch the video.
Today, boxing authorities reversed the decision and banished the referee.
Welcome back, boxing—we missed your slow descent into corruption-induced irrelevancy.