Brickyard 400 2012 Results: Reaction, Leaders and Post-Race Analysis

Justin Welton@JustinWeltonAnalyst IIJuly 29, 2012

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - JULY 29:  Denny Hamlin, driver of the #11 FedEx Express Toyota, and Carl Edwards, driver of the #99 Fastenal Ford, lead the field past the green flag to start the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Crown Royal presents the Curtiss Shaver 400 at the Brickyard at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on July 29, 2012 in Indianapolis, Indiana.  (Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images for NASCAR)
Jerry Markland/Getty Images

As we climb deeper into summer, the value of importance in NASCAR's races increases by the week.  NASCAR's Brickyard 400 Sunday will see the value of importance pushed to another level.

Denny Hamlin claimed the pole position for the Brickyard, looking for his 10th top-5 finish in 2012. His strong 2012 will only continue if he can manage another strong finish Sunday.

Other racers in perfect position this Sunday are Carl Edwards, Joey Logano, Aric Almirola, Greg Biffle, Jimmie Johnson and Kyle Busch.

Paul Menard, Jeff Gordon and Matt Kenseth round out the top 10, which should result in a fantastic start and finish.

When: Sunday, July 29, 1:00 p.m. ET

Where: Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Speedway, IN

Watch: ESPN


Final Results

Jimmie Johnson won the fourth Brickyard 400 in his historic career Sunday, finishing four seconds ahead of second place finisher Kyle Busch.

1. Jimmie Johnson

2. Kyle Busch

3. Greg Biffle

4. Dale Earnhardt, Jr.

5. Jeff Gordon

6. Denny Hamlin

7. Ryan Newman

8. Martin Truex, Jr.

9. Brad Keselowski

10. Tony Stewart

To see the complete final results, check out ESPN.


Post-Race Analysis

Denny Hamlin couldn't use his pole position, Jeff Gordon failed again to get his fifth, but Jimmie Johnson reminded us not to forget about what he can do on the track.

Johnson winning his fourth Brickyard is something special. Sunday's result was one that deserves ultimate respect and recognition even from the biggest haters.

As for the points lead, there is a familiar, but not so familiar face on top. His name is Dale Earnhardt, Jr.

Yes, you read that correctly.

It's been eight years (2004) since Earnhardt, Jr. saw himself on top of the table. After finally winning a race and finally seeing the top of the table, maybe this is Jr's year to make a push for the ultimate crown.


Starting Lineup for the Brickyard 400

1. Denny Hamlin
2. Carl Edwards
3. Joey Logano
4. Aric Almirola
5. Greg Biffle
6. Jimmie Johnson
7. Kyle Busch
8. Paul Menard
9. Jeff Gordon
10. Matt Kenseth
11. Ryan Newman
12. Juan Pablo Montoya
13. Kurt Busch
14. Regan Smith
15. Kasey Kahne
16. Jamie McMurray
17. Martin Truex, Jr.
18. Trevor Bayne
19. Mark Martin
20. Dale Earnhardt, Jr.
21. Jeff Burton
22. Brad Keselowski
23. Marcos Ambrose
24. Sam Hornish, Jr.
25. Casey Mears
26. David Stremme
27. Kevin Harvick
28. Tony Stewart
29. Bobby Labonte
30. Travis Kvapil
31. David Gilliland
32. Dave Blaney
33. Clint Bowyer
34. Scott Speed
35. Josh Wise
36. David Ragan
37. Stephen Leicht
38. Landon Cassill
39. Mike Skinner
40. JJ Yeley
41. Ken Schrader
42. Scott Riggs
43. Mike Bliss


    NBA Stars Have Strong Bottled Water Takes 💦

    Featured logo

    NBA Stars Have Strong Bottled Water Takes 💦

    Tom Haberstroh
    via Bleacher Report

    Bama QB Race Will Decide Hurts' Future

    Featured logo

    Bama QB Race Will Decide Hurts' Future

    Matt Hayes
    via Bleacher Report

    MLB Trades That Would Ignite Fans 😡

    Featured logo

    MLB Trades That Would Ignite Fans 😡

    Zachary D. Rymer
    via Bleacher Report

    The Resurrgence of Aaron Rodgers

    Featured logo

    The Resurrgence of Aaron Rodgers

    Mike Freeman
    via Bleacher Report