6 Possible New Names for the Old BCS Trophy

« Prev
1 of 8
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
6 Possible New Names for the Old BCS Trophy
Andy Lyons/Getty Images

The powers that be have finally given in to college football fans, players and coaches from all over the country in giving them what they have wanted for years: a playoff system. 

When the Bowl Championship Series was introduced in 1999, America finally had the opportunity to see the top two teams in the land play for the national title each and every year. And it was good.

Realizing that "good" just wasn't good enough, college football will adopt a new four-team playoff beginning in 2014. The top four teams in the land will play each other, with the winners facing off in the national title game.

While this new system is most certainly better than the BCS was, it will most likely be torn to shreds by avid fans who yearn for more within the first couple of seasons.

Until that happens, though, there are more pressing issues that must be addressed: for one, the BCS Championship trophy (technically its the American Football Coaches Association National Championship Trophy) will be no more. The new one is going to need a name of its own as well, something a little more appealing than the AFCANCT.

Begin Slideshow »
Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

College Football

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.