Big 12 Football logoBig 12 Football

Huskers Put 61 on Big 12 Honor Roll

Bleacher ReportAnalyst IFebruary 19, 2009

Following a long and proud tradition of outstanding performance on the field and in the classroom, Nebraska learned today that 61 of its football players had earned recognition on the Big 12 Commissioner's Fall 2008 Honor Roll.

Of the 61 players, 19 made the first and second team Honor Roll for the Fall 2008 semester. To qualify for the award, student athletes must maintain a 3.0 GPA or higher, either cumulative or in the previous two semesters, and have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests.

Leading the way with a 4.0 GPA are Austin Cassidy (undeclared), Sean Fisher (undeclared), Aaron Gillaspie (management), Dan Glassman (biological sciences), Victory Haines (mathematics), Sam Meginnis (undeclared), Todd Peterson (nutrition, exercise and health science), and Patrick Witt (finance).

Thirteen players were named to the Honor Roll for at least the fourth time in their careers, with nine-time honorees Peterson, Dan Titchener (accounting), and Tyler Wortman (mechanical engineering) leading that group.

Eight-time Commissioner's Honor Roll honorees include 2007 senior linebacker Lance Brandenburgh (business administration) and Andy Christensen (construction management). Junior wide receiver Wes Cammack (agricultural engineering) was also honored for the seventh time, Zach Potter (communication studies) earned his sixth honor roll selection, while Justin Mackovicka (nutrition science), Matt O'Hanlon (history), and Nate Swift (construction management), are five-time honorees.

Witt, Clayton Sievers (communication studies), and Ty Steinkuhler (criminal justice) picked up honors for the fourth time, while another 15 earned honors for the third time. Nebraska's true freshman class had 22 players earn the award during their first semester on campus.

Way to go, gentlemen!




Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices