2012 Tour de FranceDownload App

Tour De France 2012 Stage 19 Results: Winner, Leaderboard and Highlights

CHARTRES, FRANCE - JULY 21:  Bradley Wiggins of Great Britain riding for Sky Procycling races to first place in the individual time trial in stage nineteen and defends the race leader's yellow jersey in the 2012 Tour de France from Bonneval to Chartres on July 21, 2012 in Chartres, France.  (Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images)
Doug Pensinger/Getty Images
Jesse ReedCorrespondent IJuly 1, 2016

British cyclist Bradley Wiggins—master of the time trials—dominated Stage 19 of the 2012 Tour de France, and there's little doubt that he'll be the winner of this year's grueling race.

Wiggins posted a time of 1:04.13, more than a minute faster than any other cyclist. His stellar time gives him a comfortable lead of more than three minutes heading into Stage 20, the final stage of the Tour de France.

BBC's Simon Brotherton said after the race:

Bradley Wiggins says what gave him perspective was that it's only sport, not life or death. But "bloody hell I've just won the Tour"!!

— Simon Brotherton (@SimonBrotherton) July 21, 2012


Well, he's not quite won just yet, as Stage 20 still looms on the horizon. But, barring a disaster, Wiggins will cruise to victory in the final stage—the shortest road stage of the event at 120 kilometers, according to LeTour.fr.

According to BBC's live blog of the event, Team Sky head coach Dave Brailsford talked about Wiggins:

"This shows why he is the leader of our team today. He smashed it. We can start thinking about winning this race now, barring accidents. A lot of people laughed when we said we could win this race in five years with a clean British rider. Today is all about Bradley and his achievement."

I couldn't have said that better myself. 


Tour de France Leaderboard after Stage 19, According to LeTour.fr:

Rank Rider Rider No. Team Times Gap
1 Bradley Wiggins 101 Sky Procycling 84:26.31  
2 Christopher Froome 105 Sky Procycling 84:29.52 +3.21
3 Vincenzo Nibali 51 Liquigas-Cannondale 84:52.50 +6.19
4 Jurgen Van Den Broeck 111 Lotto-Belisol Team 84:36.46 +10.15
5 Tejay Van Garderen 9 BMC Racing Team 84:37.35 +11.04


Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices