Barry Larkin: A Shelf Full of Gold Glove and Silver Slugger Awards

Jerry Tapp@@StatsonTappSenior Analyst IIIJuly 21, 2012

Barry Larkin
Barry LarkinThomas Gannam/Getty Images

Cincinnati Reds shortstop Barry Larkin will be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame tomorrow. Playing his entire career with the Reds, Larkin compiled a .295 career batting average with 198 home runs and 960 RBI.

A 12-time All-Star, Larkin was the 1995 National League MVP and was the first shortstop to join the 30-30 club when he hit 33 HRs and had 36 stolen bases in 1996. Larkin is also one of only three shortstops to have won three or more Gold Glove Awards and three or more Silver Slugger Awards.

In 1980 the Silver Slugger Award was first awarded honoring the best offensive player at each position in each league. The Silver Slugger was instituted as a hitting honor to go along with the Gold Glove Award which honors the best defensive players at each position. The Gold Glove was first awarded in 1957.

Larkin is one of only 27 different players in baseball history to have won three or more Silver Slugger awards and three or more Gold Glove awards. Topping the list are catcher Ivan Rodriguez and outfielder Barry Bonds. Rodriguez has won the defensive honor 13 times and he has seven Silver Sluggers. Bonds has 12 Gold Gloves and eight Silver Sluggers.

Larkin holds the MLB record for most Silver Slugger Awards by a shortstop with nine. He is followed by Cal Ripken, Jr., with eight. He follows Barry Bonds (12) and Mike Piazza (10) for most Silver Slugger Awards by all positions since the honor was instituted in 1980.

Following, by position, are the players who have won three or more Gold Gloves and three or more Silver Slugger honors.

Position… player, GG (Gold Gloves), SS (Silver Sluggers)

Catcher: Ivan Rodriguez (13 GG, 7 SS), Lance Parrish (3 GG, 6 SS), Gary Carter (3 GG, 5 SS), Joe Mauer (3 GG, 4 SS), Benito Santiago (3 GG, 4 SS)

First Baseman: Todd Helton (3 GG, 4 SS), Don Mattingly (9 GG, 3 SS), Eddie Murray (3 GG, 3 SS), Mark Teixeira (4 GG, 3 SS)

Second Baseman: Ryne Sandberg (9 GG, 7 SS), Roberto Alomar (10 GG, 4 SS), Craig Biggio (4 GG, 4 SS), Lou Whitaker (3 GG, 4 SS)

Shortstop: Barry Larkin (3 GG, 9 SS), Derek Jeter (5 GG, 4 SS), Alan Trammell (4 GG, 3 SS)

Third Baseman: Mike Schmidt (10 GG, 6 SS), Matt Williams (4 GG, 4 SS)

Outfielder: Barry Bonds (12 GG, 8 SS), Ken Griffey, Jr. (10 GG, 7 SS), Tony Gwynn (5 GG, 7 SS), Kirby Puckett (6 GG, 6 SS), Dave Winfield (7 GG, 5 SS), Andre Dawson (8 GG, 4 SS), Dale Murphy (5 GG, 4 SS), Ichiro Suzuki (10 GG, 3 SS), Larry Walker (7 GG, 3 SS).


Follow Jerry on Twitter @StatsonTapp