British Open 2012 Tee Times: Latest Listings for Golf's Biggest Stars

Eric Ball@@BigLeagueEballFeatured ColumnistJuly 17, 2012

LYTHAM ST ANNES, ENGLAND - JULY 16:  Tiger Woods of the United States walks with his manager Mark Steinberg during the first practice round prior to the start of the 141st Open Championship at Royal Lytham & St Annes on July 16, 2012 in Lytham St Annes, England.  (Photo by Andrew Redington/Getty Images)
Andrew Redington/Getty Images

The British Open or “The Open” is less than 48 hours away and the official tee times for play on Thursday and Friday have been released.

While the Tiger Woods/Justin Rose/Sergio Garcia pairing is surely going to grab the headlines, keep an eye on the Rory McIlroy/Louis Oosthuizen/Keegan Bradley grouping, which features three players who have won majors in the last few years.

Speaking of winning majors, there have been 15 different golfers to hoist a trophy in the last 15 major events.

This is the longest stretch without a repeat winner since a four-year run that went from 1994 to the 1998. The last nine majors have all featured first time winners.

So parity has never been greater in the sport, but will that continue?

Woods continues to be an enigma, yet is the favorite to win once again. Do yourself a favor and avoid betting on a player who has missed the cut, registered a T-23rd and notched two DNP’s since 2008.

On top of that, he told the Guardian that the Royal Lytham course is “almost unplayable” at certain points in the rough. Woods is impossible to predict at major events right now, and it’s hard to envision him breaking his major-less streak here.

With the struggles of Phil Mickelson (paired with Luke Donald and Geoff Ogilvy) and McIlroy of late, this is truly a wide-open field yet again.

Defending champion Darren Clarke will be grouped with a few major winners in Ernie Els and Zach Johnson. Considering Clarke’s free-fall since the big win, it’s highly doubtful he’ll be competing on Sunday as well.

So who will win?

When considering all of the recent trends surrounding the PGA Tour, picking a guy like Lee Westwood makes sense. He finished second at the British Open in 2010, and is arguably the most accomplished golfer yet to win a major currently on tour.

In an incredibly unpredictable field Westwood is a decent bet— which means he’ll probably miss the cut. 


Thursday and Friday's Tee Times (all times EST)

Courtesy of

1:19 a.m.-6:20 a.m. - Barry Lane, James Driscoll.

1:30 a.m.-6:31 a.m. - Richard Finch, Garth Mulroy.

1:41 a.m.-6:42 a.m. - Matthew Baldwin, Adilson Da Silva, Tadahiro Takayama.

1:52 a.m.-6:53 a.m. - Rafael Echenique, Kodai Ichihara, John Huh.

2:03 a.m.-7:04 a.m. - Sandy Lyle, Todd Hamilton, Mark Calcavecchia.

2:14 a.m.-7:15 a.m. - Alejandro Canizares, Jeev Milkha Singh, Greg Chalmers.

2:25 a.m.-7:26 a.m. - John Daly, Chad Campbell, Michael Hoey.

2:36 a.m.-7:37 a.m. - Thongchai Jaidee, Justin Leonard, Simon Khan.

2:47 a.m.-7:48 a.m. - David Duval, Raphael Jacquelin, Miguel Angel Jimenez.

2:58 a.m.-7:59 a.m. - Stephen Ames, Robert Rock, Kyle Stanley.

3:09 a.m.-8:10 a.m. - Stewart Cink, Rafael Cabrera-Bello, Johnson Wagner.

3:20 a.m.-8:21 a.m. - Jamie Donaldson, Bill Haas, Y.E. Yang.

3:31 a.m.-8:32 a.m. - Davis Love III, Tim Clark, Paul Lawrie.

3:42 a.m.-8:43 a.m. - Adam Scott, Alan Dunbar, Matt Kuchar.

3:58 a.m.-8:59 a.m. - Vijay Singh, Nick Watney, Ian Poulter.

4:09 a.m.-9:10 a.m. - Darren Clarke, Ernie Els, Zach Johnson.

4:20 a.m.-9:21 a.m. - Lee Westwood, Yoshinori Fujimoto, Bubba Watson.

4:31 a.m.-9:32 a.m. - Dustin Johnson, Graeme McDowell, Hiroyuki Fujita.

4:42 a.m.-9:43 a.m. - Tiger Woods, Justin Rose, Sergio Garcia.

4:53 a.m.-9:54 a.m. - Ryo Ishikawa, Martin Kaymer, Tom Watson.

5:04 a.m.-10:05 a.m. - Thomas Bjorn, Aaron Baddeley, Charl Schwartzel.

5:15 a.m.-10:16 a.m. - Jason Dufner, Martin Laird, Kevin Na.

5:26 a.m.-10:27 a.m. - James Morrison, Daniel Chopra, Joost Luiten.

5:37 a.m.-10:38 a.m. - Thorbjorn Olesen, Troy Matteson, Thomas Aiken.

5:48 a.m.-10:49 a.m. - Brad Kennedy, Mardan Mamat, Steven Tiley.

5:59 a.m.-11 a.m. - Warren Bennett, Aaron Townsend, Grant Veenstra.

6:10 a.m.-11:11 a.m. - Dale Whitnell, Sam Walker, Elliot Saltman.

6:31 a.m.-1:19 a.m. - Bob Estes, Steven O'Hara, Brendan Jones.

6:42 a.m.-1:30 a.m. - Juvic Pagunsan, Scott Pinckney, Nicholas Cullen.

6:53 a.m.-1:41 a.m. - Steven Alker, Lee Slattery, Russ Cochran.

7:04 a.m.-1:52 a.m. - Tom Lehman, Pablo Larrazabal, Greg Owen.

7:15 a.m.-2:03 a.m. - Marcel Siem, George Coetzee, Chez Reavie.

7:26 a.m.-2:14 a.m. - Marcus Fraser, Lucas Glover, Gregory Havret.

7:37 a.m.-2:25 a.m. - Charles Howell III, Paul Broadhurst, Richard Sterne.

7:48 a.m.-2:36 a.m. - Carl Pettersson, K.T. Kim, Gary Woodland.

7:59 a.m.-2:47 a.m. - Ben Curtis, Paul Casey, Trevor Immelman.

8:10 a.m.-2:58 a.m. - Robert Karlsson, Mark Wilson, Branden Grace.

8:21 a.m.-3:09 a.m. - Harris English, Simon Dyson, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano

8:32 a.m.-3:20 a.m. - Angel Cabrera, K.J. Choi, Ross Fisher.

8:43 a.m.-3:31 a.m. - Jonathan Byrd, Sang-moon Bae, Alvaro Quiros.

8:59 a.m.-3:42 a.m. - Nicolas Colsaerts, Hunter Mahan, John Senden.

9:10 a.m.-3:58 a.m. - Bo Van Pelt, Francesco Molinari, Toshinori Muto.

9:21 a.m.-4:09 a.m. - Rory McIlroy, Louis Oosthuizen, Keegan Bradley.

9:32 a.m.-4:20 a.m. - Rickie Fowler, Padraig Harrington, Manuel Trappel.

9:43 a.m.-4:31 a.m. - Luke Donald, Phil Mickelson, Geoff Ogilvy.

9:54 a.m.-4:42 a.m. - Steve Stricker, Toru Taniguchi, Anders Hansen.

10:05 a.m.-4:53 a.m. - Peter Hanson, Retief Goosen, Robert Allenby.

10:16 a.m.-5:04 a.m. - Jim Furyk, Koumei Oda, Fredrik Jacobson.

10:27 a.m.-5:15 a.m. - Marc Leishman, Brandt Snedeker, Alexander Noren.

10:38 a.m.-5:26 a.m. - Andres Romero, Jbe Kruger, Richie Ramsay.

10:49 a.m.-5:37 a.m. - Ted Potter Jr., Ian Keenan, Andrew Georgiou.

11 a.m.-5:48 a.m. - Troy Kelly, Morten Orum Madsen, Anirban Lahiri.

11:11 a.m.-5:59 a.m. - Prayad Marksaeng, Justin Hicks, Ashley Hall.



    Matchups That Will Decide Championship Weekend

    Featured logo

    Matchups That Will Decide Championship Weekend

    Chris Simms
    via Bleacher Report

    The Price of USA's Soccer Failure

    Featured logo

    The Price of USA's Soccer Failure

    Jesus Jimenez
    via Bleacher Report

    CBB Teams Built to Dominate March

    Featured logo

    CBB Teams Built to Dominate March

    Kerry Miller
    via Bleacher Report

    CFB Teams Set to Regress in 2018

    Featured logo

    CFB Teams Set to Regress in 2018

    Brian Pedersen
    via Bleacher Report