Setting 2012 NFL MVP Award's Early Odds

« Prev
1 of 14
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Setting 2012 NFL MVP Award's Early Odds
Al Bello/Getty Images
Aaron Rodgers was the 2011 AP NFL MVP.

If you look at the history of the NFL MVP award, you will note that since 1981, a quarterback has either won or shared the award a whopping 22 times. No other position player comes close. 

Running backs are next in line, with eight winners (outright or shared). Only two other positions have won the award, and they've only done it once: kicker (Mark Moseley in 1982); defensive player (Lawrence Taylor in 1986). The fact that kickers have more MVP awards than wide receivers is rather baffling, but that is the reality.

I wonder if general managers are using that fact to keep down the price of wide receiver contracts...

As quarterbacks have won the MVP award the past five years running, and we are in the midst of a huge uptick in passing production in the NFL, it would be a shock if another quarterback didn't win in 2012.

However, there still exists the possibility that some NFL teams will be more oriented toward slowing down the game by running the ball more. If they were extremely successful in executing that game plan, a running back could very well come away with the award.

Here are the early odds for the 2012 NFL MVP award candidates.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.