2012 ESPY Results: Silva & Jones Lose "Fighter of the Year" to Mayweather

Matthew RothFeatured ColumnistJuly 11, 2012

LAS VEGAS, NV - MAY 05:  Floyd Mayweather Jr. celebrates after defeating Miguel Cotto by unanimous decision during their WBA super welterweight title fight at the MGM Grand Garden Arena on May 5, 2012 in Las Vegas, Nevada.  (Photo by Al Bello/Getty Images)
Al Bello/Getty Images

Anderson Silva and Jon Jones are considered by many to be two of the best mixed martial artists competing in the UFC. They both represent the traditional martial arts ethos of respect and hard work. And they both have been extremely dominant in their respective runs in the promotion. 

Jones has put together a string of wins that puts him in the argument of all-time greats during his championship run. A TKO win over Mauricio Rua, submission wins over Quinton Jackson and Lyoto Machida, and the unanimous decision win over Rashad Evans is arguably one of the best runs at light heavyweight ever. 

Anderson Silva is the best fighter in the world. It's impossible to argue as he's been able to defend the UFC middleweight title an unheard-of 10 consecutive times. He's been fighting twice a year for the majority of his run which has likely helped extend his career. He just defeated his long time rival Chael Sonnen in one of the best performances of his career. 

Unfortunately, neither fighter was able to walk away with an ESPY award tonight. The award went to undefeated boxer Floyd Mayweather. In the past calendar year, Mayweather was able to extend his record to 43-0 with victories over Victor Ortiz and Miguel Cotto. 

Maybe next year will be the year that an MMA fighter will walk away with the "Fighter of the Year" award at the ESPYs.