Home Run Derby 2012: Robinson Cano and Players Who Will Dominate Field

Justin Welton@JustinWeltonAnalyst IIJuly 8, 2012

NEW YORK, NY - JUNE 22: Robinson Cano #24 of the New York Yankees rounds first after he hit a two run homer in the eighth inning against the New York Mets on June 22, 2012 during interleague play at Citi Field in the Flushing neighborhood of the Queens borough of New York City.  (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)
Elsa/Getty Images

Performing well at the Home Run Derby is something few achieve. Most fail miserably, including some of the all-time greats in the history of the sport. 

However, there are three players competing in the 2012 Home Run Derby who are ready to dominate the field. Here are those three performers. 


Robinson Cano

Robinson Cano has one of the sweetest strokes in the MLB. His stroke allows him to remain consistent in the Home Run Derby. 

Last year's winner hit 32 home runs by staying patient, waiting for his pitch and delivering a smooth stroke. 

His experience, mentality and ability to hit the ball where he wants will give him another great opportunity to walk away with back-to-back honors.


Prince Fielder

Another former Home Run Derby champion, Prince Fielder's ability to pull pitches will give him a great chance to win another derby.

Kansas City's right and left field are only 330 feet down each line. Fielder loves to pull the ball, and his want to pull the ball approach will be beneficial Monday night.

His experience, power and overall ability will be a big reason why he dominates the field.


Carlos Gonzalez 

Another sweet swing, Carlos Gonzalez brings a steady approach to the table that will fare well in the Home Run Derby.  

Gonzalez has hit 26 or more home runs in two consecutive seasons, and he is well on his way (17) to making that a third.

With his swing, approach, concentration and talent level, Gonzalez is set for a dominating performance on the big stage. He's one of the purest hitters in the game and this competition will only be a platform for him to prove it.



Robinson Cano defeats Carlos Gonzalez in the finals to win for the second consecutive year.