Roush Fenway Racing logoRoush Fenway Racing

NASCAR Champion Matt Kenseth out at Roush Fenway

LAS VEGAS, NV - MARCH 09:  (L-R) Team owner Jack Roush talks with Matt Kenseth, driver of the #17 Zest Ford, during qualifying for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Kobalt Tools 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on March 9, 2012 in Las Vegas, Nevada.  (Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images for NASCAR)
Jerry Markland/Getty Images
Sandra MacWattersCorrespondent IJune 26, 2012

Roush Fenway Racing has announced that Matt Kenseth will be leaving at the conclusion of the 2012 season. RFR is looking to the future with young Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. driving full-time in 2013.

Jack Roush stated, "We feel that he (Stenhouse) is not only a key piece of our team's future, but a key piece piece of the future of the sport."

Roush added, "Of course I would like to thank Matt Kenseth for his many years of loyal service."

RFR general manager, Robbie Reiser, said, "Matt and I broke into this sport together, learned the ropes and were able to bring home a championship."

Stenhouse is one of three drivers in development for RFR with the other two being Trevor Bayne and Chris Buescher.

Team president Steve Newmark stated, "I'm excited about the opportunity to bring Ricky into the Sprint Cup Series and get him into victory lane. He has an incredible opportuntiy to continue his winning ways, just as Matt did nearly 15 years ago."

There has been no formal announcement as to where Kenseth will be driving in the 2013 season. Kenseth is currently the leader in the NASCAR Sprint Cup point standings.

Information and quotes courtesy of official press release from Roush Fenway Racing

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices