MLB Power Rankings: The Top 30 'All Heart' Teams of All Time

« Prev
1 of 31
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
MLB Power Rankings: The Top 30 'All Heart' Teams of All Time
Photo courtesy

In sports, the team that has the most heart oftentimes can overcome great obstacles and turn into a winner.

That has certainly been the case in Major League Baseball.

Fans get behind the underdog—the team that doesn’t seem to have the better talent on the field, yet has that “never say die” attitude that propels them to the top. Whether it’s a team that has faced adversity, dealt with a spate of injuries or just a team that plays hard every day despite facing a heavy favorite, they are the teams that fans rally behind.

In 2012, the New York Mets could certainly be a team classified as an underdog, and a team that has displayed tremendous heart thus far. With a starting rotation that features a man with a shoulder that has been patched together, (Johan Santana), and a knuckleballer who is the talk of the National League, (R.A. Dickey), the Mets have once again endeared themselves to the their fans through tremendous will to win despite preseason predictions that had them finishing in the cellar in the NL East.

Throughout the history of baseball, there have been a number of teams that fit the description of a team with heart, rising from the ashes to taste victory or facing insurmountable odds on the way to the top. While not every underdog gets to savor the flavor of ultimate victory, they nonetheless etched themselves in the memories of fans because of their inspired play.

Here, then, is a list of 30 teams in MLB history whose inspired play is fondly remembered by their fans.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.