2012 Stanley Cup Final: Jonathan Quick and College Company Claim L.A.'s 1st Cup

Roman Uschak@@RomanUschakCorrespondent IJune 13, 2012

LOS ANGELES, CA - JUNE 11:  Commissioner Gary Bettman of the National Hockey League presents the Conn Smythe Trophy to Jonathan Quick #32 of the Los Angeles Kings after defeating the New Jersey Devils in Game Six of the 2012 Stanley Cup Finals at Staples Center on June 11, 2012 in Los Angeles, California. The Kings defeated the Devils 6-1 to win the series 4 games to 2.  (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)
Christian Petersen/Getty Images

It’s all over now except the celebrating.

The Los Angeles Kings claimed the first Stanley Cup title in their 45-year history with a 6-1 win over the New Jersey Devils on Monday night in Game 6 of the 2012 Stanley Cup Final at the Staples Center in California.

Kings goaltender and former UMass netminder Jonathan Quick also took home the Conn Smythe Trophy as the NHL playoff MVP after fashioning a 16-4 record during the postseason, along with a 1.41 goals-against average , a .946 save percentage and three shutouts. He is just the third American to win the Conn Smythe after Brian Leetch (1994) and Tim Thomas (2011), both of whom also played college hockey (Boston College, Vermont).

Connecticut native Quick surrendered just seven goals in the six-game final, in which the Kings won the first three games before New Jersey came back to win the next two. L.A. then closed it out two nights ago to become the lowest-seeded (eighth) team ever to win the title.

The Kings had previously ousted top seeds Vancouver, St. Louis and Phoenix in the first three rounds, respectively, and needed just 14 games to do so, all with Quick in net. They also finished 10-1 on the road in these playoffs, with the only blemish a 2-1 loss at New Jersey in Game 5.

Former NCAA skaters joining Quick on the Kings roster were Davis Drewiske (Wisconsin), Matt Greene (North Dakota), Alec Martinez (Miami), Dustin Penner (Maine), Willie Mitchell (Clarkson), Scott Parse (Nebraska-Omaha), Rob Scuderi (Boston College), and Kevin Westgarth (Princeton). Penner had previously raised the Cup with Anaheim in 2007, while Scuderi won it before in 2009 with Pittsburgh.

This year was only the second time that L.A. made the final. Their first was 19 years ago, a loss to Montreal in five games in 1993.

That's all academic now.