Triple Crown Winners: Ranking the Best Horses of All-Time

« Prev
1 of 12
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Triple Crown Winners: Ranking the Best Horses of All-Time
photo via

Only 11 horses in the 137 years of the Triple Crown have captured horse racing's greatest achievement, sweeping the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes and the Belmont Stakes.

The horse who achieves this is forever recognized as a Triple Crown winner.

Although none of the 11 are currently alive, they all still live on in racing history.

Earlier in Triple Crown history the time between the races used to be shorter, and most of them would even run a prep-race between the Preakness and the Belmont Stakes.

Nowadays, as horses are bred for speed and not endurance, it would be unheard of to squeeze in a start in another race between them.

Now is five weeks between the first and third legs. The Kentucky Derby goes first being run the first Saturday of May, the Preakness follows two weeks after and the Belmont Stakes three weeks after the Preakness.

It has been 34 years since Affirmed won it in 1978. And as we draw closer to I'll Have Another's attempt to join this 11 immortals, let's look at my ranking of the Triple Crown winners.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Horse Racing

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.