All-Time AFC South Team: The Best Coaching Performance

Nate Dunlevy@NateDunlevyGuest ColumnistJune 1, 2012

Fisher was a master in 2008.
Fisher was a master in 2008.Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

The AFC South has been around for 10 often-glorious years, and it's time to give the unappreciated division some love.

For the next few weeks, I'll be letting you vote on the all-time AFC South team. We'll be picking players and a coach based on their best single season from 2002 to 2011.

We started with the quarterbacks, moved on to the running backs, the wide receivers, tight ends, the offensive line, defensive tackles, defensive ends, linebackers, cornerbacks and safeties.

Today we look at the best head coaches.

Vote for your choice. Voting on all spots will last into next week when I'll announce the team.

The nominees are:


Jack Del Rio, 2007

Del Rio made a tough call in 2007 by replacing Byron Leftwich with David Garrard in training camp. While it can be argued that Del Rio never should have backed Leftwich the offseason before, we'll be positive and count it in his favor. Garrard followed with an incredible season, and the Jaguars won 11 games and upset the Steelers in the playoffs.


Jeff Fisher, 2008

No one expected the 2008 Titans to win the AFC South, but Fisher pulled it off, thanks in part to a gutsy move to bench Vince Young in favor of Kerry Collins. The fact that Fisher managed to take teams quarterbacked by Young and Collins to the playoffs at all is amazing. The Titans finished with the best record and had the best point differential in football.


Tony Dungy, 2008

Dungy is an oft-celebrated coach for great reason, but his finest coaching job by far was 2008. The Colts were decimated by injuries and at one point saw their record dip to 3-4. Indianapolis then won the final nine games of the season, six of them by one score or less.

Dungy was masterful all season before seeing his team lose a tough game in overtime on the road in the playoffs. His cover-2 defense was never on better display as the Colts held opponents to an NFL-record six touchdown passes all season.


Gary Kubiak, 2011

The Texans finally broke through in 2011, and Gary Kubiak delivered the city of Houston its first division crown. Despite injuries to Matt Schaub, Andre Johnson and Mario Williams, Kubiak kept the Texans afloat.

The team cruised to its first playoff appearance and then on to the second round. At one point, the Texans looked to be the most dominant team in the AFC before the injuries lead to bad losses down the stretch.