2012 Preakness Stakes logo2012 Preakness Stakes

Preakness Lineup 2012: Post Positions for Each Contending Horse

BALTIMORE, MD - MAY 17:  Exercise rider George Alvarez takes Bodemeister over the track in preparation for the 137th Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course on May 17, 2012 in Baltimore, Maryland.  (Photo by Rob Carr/Getty Images)
Rob Carr/Getty Images
Chris TrapassoAnalyst IMay 19, 2012

After favorites Bodemeister and I'll Have Another, the 137th running of the Preakness Stakes has many wild cards. 

While much attention is paid to how each horse looked in training runs and the condition of the track at Pimlico, we cannot forget about the post positions and their importance to the race. 

For example, since 1972, just one horse has one the Preakness from Post 9, the spot I'll Have Another drew. 

The horses positioning may be a small, but crucial factor that ultimately determines the winner on Saturday.

Here are the ever-important post positions that were drawn on Wednesday.

*Post positions according to NJ.com.

*Odds via VegasInsider.com.

Post Horse Jockey Odds
 1.  Tiger Walk K. Desormeaux 20-1
 2.  Teeth of the Dog J. Bravo 20-1 
 3.  Pretension J. Santiago 25-1 
 4.  Zetterholm J. Alvarado 20-1 
 5.  Went the Day Well J. Velazquez 12-1
 6.  Creative Cause J. Rosario 8-1 
 7.  Bodemeister M. Smith 3-1 
 8.  Daddy Nose Best J. Leparoux N/A 
 9.  I'll Have Another M. Gutierrez 3-1 
 10.  Optimizer C. Nakatani 12-1 
 11.  Cozzetti J. Lezcano 20-1 


Bodemeister shouldn't be harmed by Post 7 and interestingly will run next to 8-1 Creative Clause. Can I'll Have Another become the second horse since 1972 to win from Post 9?

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices