NHL Playoffs 2012: Top 10 Conn Smythe Trophy Candidates

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NHL Playoffs 2012: Top 10 Conn Smythe Trophy Candidates
Jeff Gross/Getty Images
Tim Thomas won the Conn Smythe for 2011

Now that the conference finals have begun, speculation for the Conn Smythe Trophy has heated up. Some names are still coming up in connection to the Stanley Cup MVP, such as Mike Smith of Phoenix.

Unlike other sports, where the MVP is selected by one game or one series, the Conn Smythe winner is based on the entire postseason play.

One other thing that makes the Conn Smythe a unique award is that a member of a losing team can still win the award. It has only happened five times since the award's inception, though—most recently in 2003 when J.S. Giguere won despite a losing effort for Anaheim.

In the slides that follow, we'll look at 10 players whose hard work thus far has them in consideration for the Conn Smythe. These slides are in no particular order.

Begin Slideshow »

Team StreamTM


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.