What If Formula One Had Used Medals All Along?

Adam FlinnCorrespondent IJanuary 30, 2009

The FIA revealed today, Jan. 30, 2009, the altered championship standings of F1 since 1950.  Had Bernie's proposed medal system been in force since then, it would have resulted in 13 different world champions across 59 years:

  • 1958: Stirling Moss, not Mike Hawthorn
  • 1964: Jim Clark, not John Surtees
  • 1967: Jim Clark, not Denny Hulme
  • 1977: Mario Andretti, not Niki Lauda
  • 1979: Alan Jones, not Jody Schekter
  • 1981: Alain Prost, not Nelson Piquet
  • 1982: Didier Pironi, not Keke Rosberg
  • 1983: Alain Prost, not Nelson Piquet
  • 1984: Alain Prost, not Niki Lauda
  • 1986: Nigel Mansell, not Alain Prost
  • 1987: Nigel Mansell, not Nelson Piquet
  • 1989: Ayrton Senna, not Alain Prost
  • 2008: Felipe Massa, not Lewis Hamilton

The biggest winners here would be Jim Clark and Nigel Mansell—both gain a couple more championships. Alan Jones, Mario Andretti, Alain Prost, and Ayrton Senna all win an extra championship, while Stirling Moss, Didier Pironi, and Felipe Massa all win their first titles.

The biggest loser would be Nelson Piquet, who would stand to lose all three of his championships. Niki Lauda would lose two of his three, while Mike Hawthorn, John Surtees, Denny Hulme, Jody Schekter, Keke Rosberg, and Lewis Hamilton would all lose their titles.

The most interesting thing for me is that Brabham would lose all of their drivers championships. Now which F1 personality used to own Brabham?