30 Greatest Playoff Goalies in NHL History

« Prev
1 of 31
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
30 Greatest Playoff Goalies in NHL History
Joel Auerbach/Getty Images

This year's postseason has already seen some incredible performances between the pipes from Pekka Rinne, Mike Smith and others. Maybe not so much from Ilya Bryzgalov and Marc-Andre Fleury, but in many of the other series, goalies have been the centerpiece.

Throughout history, there have been a number of goalies who have carried their team to the Stanley Cup. Some have been good enough to carry a team further than they should have gone, and been rewarded for their efforts. In total, a goalie has been awarded the Conn Smythe 15 times, four of which went to the netminder on the second place team.

Patrick Roy won the Conn Smythe three times and Bernie Parent won it twice. Other goalies, like Terry Sawchuk, Jacques Plante, Ken Dryden and Eddie Belfour, were good enough on more than one occasion.

For this list, we limited each goalie to their best postseason performance. So only one appearance from these great Hall of Famers and surprising stars who had a stretch of brilliance one spring.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.