Netherlands Shut Out Brazil, 3-0

Key Battles in Germany-Argentina

John Terry Knees Alexis Sanchez in the Back, but Is It a Red Card?

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories

It's been a downright awful year for John Terry.

Between the racism scandal and getting stripped of the England captaincy, Terry has not been a popular man in England, or anywhere in the world for that matter.

And no one has yet forgotten about the Wayne Bridge scandal, which started Terry's image on a downward slope that it has never recovered from.

But with his latest act of stupidity, Terry has now earned a reputation for being a dirty player as well.

With Chelsea down 1-0 to Barcelona, and still possessing an excellent chance of making the Champions League final, John Terry idiotically kneed Barcelona winger Alexis Sanchez in the back, sending him to the floor in pain.

The referee quickly dealt with John Terry, sending him off and bringing Chelsea down to 10 men.

The question that must be asked though is this: Was it the right call?

No one likes John Terry, and many people felt he deserved to be sent off based on the malice involved in his attack of Alexis Sanchez.

But was the actual foul red-card worthy? Alexis Sanchez wasn't hurt, and the knee was hardly driven into Sanchez back with much force.

The red card turned a game that Chelsea had a decent chance of winning into a game that Chelsea would require a miracle to win.

Watch and decide for yourself.

Load More Stories
Transfer News

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.