Boston Marathon 2012 Results: Finishing Times for Biggest Names

Hristina TishevaCorrespondent IApril 16, 2012

HOPKINTON, MA - APRIL 16: Men's elite field heads out during the start of the 116th running of the Boston Marathon April 16, 2012 in Hopkinton, Massachusetts. (Photo by Darren McCollester/Getty Images)
Darren McCollester/Getty Images

A great day today at the Boston Marathon for Kenya’s runners. They again swept the men’s and women’s podiums.

Wesley Korir won the Boston Marathon in 2:12:40. Levy Matebo finished 26 seconds later in 2:13:06 after leading most of the race toward the end. Bernard Kipyego came in a close third in 2:13:13.

No title defending today at Boston.

Defending champion Geoffrey Mutai had to drop out of the race at the 18th mile due to cramping. This may cost him a chance to represent Kenya at the London Olympic Games this summer.

Sharon Cherop won the marathon in 2:31:50, followed by another Kenyan, Jemima Jelagat Sumgong, just two seconds later. Georgina Rono completed the podium, finishing in 2:33:09.

Again, just like last year, it was a matter of two seconds. The difference is that this time last year an American, Desiree Davila, was the runner-up.

The heat was the biggest challenge for many of the athletes. Temperatures were rising into the 80s and it slowed the women on the field at the 116th Boston Marathon by about nine minutes. The men were also slower today compared to last year, also by about nine minutes. Mutai won last year in 2:03:02.

The pleasant surprise in the race today was American Jason Hartmann. He finished fourth, clocking 2:14:31. Marathon runners are usually small but the 6'3" Hartmann proved today that he could be a contender.



Top Men Finishers

Place   Name                          Ctry       Time

1.         Wesley Korir               KEN     2:12:40

2.         Levy Matebo               KEN     2:13:06

3.         Bernard Kipyego         KEN     2:13:13

4.         Jason Hartmann          USA     2:14:31

5.         Wilson Chebet             KEN     2:14:56

6.         Laban Korir                 KEN     2:15:29

7.         Michel Butter               NED    2:16:38

8.         David Barmasai           KEN    2:17:16

9.         Hideaki Tamura          JPN      2:18:15

10.       Mathew Kisorio           KEN     2:18:15




Top Women Finishers

Place   Name                                     Ctry                 Time

1.         Sharon Cherop                      KEN                 2:31:50

2.         Jemima Jelagat Sumgong     KEN                 2:31:52

3.         Georgina Rono                       KEN                2:33:09

4.         Firehiwot Dado                       ETH                2:34:56

5.         Diana Sigei                             KEN                2:35:40

6.         Rita Jeptoo                             KEN                2:35:53

7.         Mayumi Fujita                         USA                2:39:11

8.         Nadezdha Leonteva               RUS                2:40:40

9.         Svetlana Pretot                      FRA                 2:40:50

10.       Sheri L. Piers                         USA                 2:41:55