MLB Prospects: Who Will Be the 2012 Minor League Player of the Year?

Mike Rosenbaum@GoldenSombreroMLB Prospects Lead WriterApril 16, 2012

Can Manny Machado win the award over soon-to-be teammate Dylan Bundy?
Can Manny Machado win the award over soon-to-be teammate Dylan Bundy?J. Meric/Getty Images

Last Tuesday, I took a look at the top positional prospects that are candidates to win 2012 Minor League Player of the Year honors. In total, 181 votes were cast, with every player receiving at least one vote.

However, the unanimous winner was the Baltimore Orioles’ Manny Machado, Prospect Pipeline’s No. 7 overall prospect. Machado captured 62.4 percent in an absolute landslide, while Jurickson Profar (6.1 percent), Miguel Sano (6.1 percent), Wil Myers (5.5 percent) and Travis d’Arnaud (5.0 percent) rounded out the top five.

Similarly, on Thursday I opened voting for the pitching candidates for player of the year. And as with the hitters, the fan voting was decisive.

Dylan Bundy—Prospect Pipeline’s No. 9 prospect—received 55 percent of the 249 votes cast, with Trevor Bauer (21.3 percent) finishing a distant second. Shelby Miller and Taijuan Walker both commanded 5.2 percent of the votes, while Tyler Skaggs snuck into the top five with 3.6 percent.

Now it’s time for a final vote. Everyone only gets one, so vote carefully. So, of the remaining 10 prospects, who will be named the 2012 Minor League Player of the Year?

No. 4 Shelby Miller, RHP, St. Louis Cardinals

No. 5 Jurickson Profar, SS, Texas Rangers

No. 7 Manny Machado, SS, Baltimore Orioles

No. 8 Trevor Bauer, Arizona Diamondbacks

No. 9 Dylan Bundy, RHP, Baltimore Orioles

No. 13 Tyler Skaggs, LHP, Arizona Diamondbacks

No. 14 Taijuan Walker, RHP, Seattle Mariners

No. 16 Miguel Sano, 3B, Minnesota Twins

No. 17 Travis d’Arnaud, C, Kansas City Royals

No. 19 Wil Myers, OF, Kansas City Royals