View from the Blues, Volume 27: LA Stumble out of Gates Early

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
View from the Blues, Volume 27: LA Stumble out of Gates Early

The last week had been nothing short of downright disappointing for Charlie Naimo's Los Angeles Blues, who had a couple of tuneup matches prior to their season opener with the Rochester Rhinos at Titan Stadium in Fullerton, Calif.

An omen of some sorts came on April 7, when they took on UCLA in a friendly. The Blues lost that match 2-0, and this was in part to a terrible defensive performance that saw Ryan Hollinghead and Evan Raynr score for the Bruins.

UC Irvine was a few notches below the Bruins in terms of talent, but they were able to draw, 2-2. Luis Gonzalez and Brian Farber scored for the Blues, but tallies from Bryan Breslin and Christopher Santana, the latter deep into stoppage time, added to Naimo's frustrations.

Along the way, Los Angeles picked up another player in defender Matt Hall, who spent time in the Premier Development League and the National Premier Soccer League before joining the Blues.

Notable clubs Hall formerly played for include the Thunder Bay Chill (PDL), Vermont Voltage (PDL), Arizona Sahuaros (NPSL) and the Las Vegas Knights (PASL-Premier).

Los Angeles opened their season with a disappointing 1-0 defeat to the Rhinos at Titan Stadium. Tam McManus scored the only goal of the match for the Rhinos.

The Blues will have a second chance at defeating Rochester on Friday, April 20 at Titan Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET. A live blog on Bleacher Report is scheduled for 5:15 p.m. PT/8:15 p.m. ET.

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

World Football

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.