Bobby Ryan, Paul Stastny Headline Team USA World Championship Roster

Bobby Ryan of the Anaheim Ducks will join Paul Stastny and 15 others to represent Team USA at the World Championships in May.
Bobby Ryan of the Anaheim Ducks will join Paul Stastny and 15 others to represent Team USA at the World Championships in May.Bruce Bennett/Getty Images
Ryan O'LearySenior Analyst IApril 11, 2012

According to a USA Hockey press release, Bobby Ryan, Paul Stastny and Jack Johnson headline the Team USA squad that will participate in the 2012 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championships taking place in Stockholm and Helsinki in May.

The initial 17-man roster, which will be added to prior to the tournament, consists of five defensemen, 11 forwards and one goaltender.

Bobby Ryan (Anaheim Ducks), Paul Stastny (Colorado Avalanche) and Jack Johnson (Columbus Blue Jackets) were all members of Team USA's 2010 Olympic team that took silver in Vancouver. 

The Anaheim Ducks' Cam Fowler and Alex Goligoski of the Dallas Stars will also man the blue line for Team USA, along with Justin Faulk of the Carolina Hurricanes.

Max Pacioretty (Montreal Canadiens), who had a career year in 2011-12, will join the big three, along with Nathan Gerbe (Buffalo Sabres), Kyle Okposo (New York Islanders) and Nate Thompson (Tampa Bay Lightning).

The team will be coached by Scott Gordon, currently an assistant with the Toronto Maple Leafs. Gordon also coached Team USA at both the 2010 and 2011 world championships.

With an initial look at the 2012 roster, this appears to be the best team that Team USA has fielded at the world championships in some time. And there will be additions, as players not participating in the playoffs give their commitments, and other players knocked out of the playoffs are given invitations.

Team USA's Group Schedule shapes up like this:

Fri., May 4 France Helsinki 12:15 p.m. (5:15 a.m. ET)
Sat., May 5 Canada Helsinki 7:00 p.m. (12:00 p.m. ET)
Mon., May 7 Slovakia Helsinki 8:15 p.m. (1:15 p.m. ET)
Thurs., May 10 Belarus Helsinki 4:15 p.m. (9:15 a.m. ET)
Fri., May 11 Kazakhstan Helsinki 4:15 p.m. (9:15 a.m. ET)
Sun., May 13 Finland Helsinki 4:15 p.m. (9:15 a.m. ET)
Tues., May 15 Switzerland Helsinki 8:15 p.m. (1:15 p.m. ET)

Ryan O'Leary is a writer and researcher for Bleacher Report's Video Production Department with seven years of experience in sports media. 

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices