Best Kansas City Chiefs Players Tournament: Elite 8 of 2000s Era Region

Farzin VousoughianContributor IIIApril 6, 2012

OAKLAND, CA - SEPTEMBER 18:  Running back Priest Holmes #31 of the Kansas City Chiefs leaps over the Oakland Raiders to score a touchdown during the first quarter at McAfee Coliseum on September 18, 2005 in Oakland, California.  (Photo by Jed Jacobsohn/Getty Images)
Jed Jacobsohn/Getty Images

Here we are! This is the final Elite Eight matchup to determine who advances to the Final Four of the Best Kansas City Chiefs Players Tournament.

On Wednesday, fans selected No. 1 LB Derrick Thomas over No. 2 G Will Shields. The current Final Four includes No. 1 QB Len Dawson, No. 2 S Deron Cherry and Thomas.

Today, we go to the 2000s region and conclude the Elite Eight.

Voting ends at 11:59 p.m. ET.


No. 1 TE Tony Gonzalez vs. No. 2 RB Priest Holmes


Tony Gonzalez

In 190 games as a member of the Kansas City Chiefs, Tony Gonzalez had no problem shattering franchise receiving charts, despite playing tight end.

Gonzalez has 916 receptions for 10,940 yards and 76 touchdowns in 12 years. He is the only player in franchise history with more than 900 receptions and 10,000 receiving yards.

His best season came in 2004, when he shattered the record for most receptions in a single season by a tight end with 102, which was also more than any pass-catcher that season. Gonzalez finished the season with a career-high 1,258 receiving yards.

Gonzalez owns the league record for career receptions, receiving yards and touchdown catches among all tight ends. As Gonzalez has his name on many records, though his most notable accomplishment is placing himself second all-time for most receptions in a career.

He also owns the record for most 1,000-yard receiving seasons for a tight end.

While playing for the Chiefs, Gonzalez has played in 10 Pro Bowls and has earned All-Pro honors nine times. The Chiefs have not issued Gonzalez’s jersey number, 88, to another player during the regular season since his departure in 2009.

Gonzalez passed No. 5 RB Jamaal Charles in the last round.


Priest Holmes

Statistically, Holmes is the best running back in franchise history. Holmes tried to save his career with the Chiefs after spending four years in Baltimore.

In his first three years, Holmes had more than 1,400 rushing yards each season. In 2002, his second year with the team, Holmes accumulated 2,305 total yards with 1,615 of them on the ground.

In 2003, Holmes shattered Marshall Faulk’s record for most touchdowns in a single season with 27. Shaun Alexander and LaDainian Tomlinson eventually passed Holmes, who is now third for most touchdowns in a season.

While playing for the Chiefs, Holmes was voted to three Pro Bowls and earned the same number of All-Pro honors. In 2002, he won the AP NFL Offensive Player of the Year Award.

As a Chief, Holmes rushed for 6,070 yards and scored 76 touchdowns on the ground—both franchise records.

Holmes passed No. 3 T Willie Roaf in the last round.