5 Best NBA Coaches to Never Win a Championship

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
5 Best NBA Coaches to Never Win a Championship
Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

Over the years there have been many coaches who have led an NBA team through a season. Some have coached multiple teams, some have only coached one. Some coaches have had great success, and some have not done very well.

Regardless of how long or how well each one did roaming the sidelines and yelling at the referees, there is one coaching accomplishment that seems to determine the overall success of many coaches.

That statistic is the number of NBA championships each has won.

We all know that before he retired at the end of last season, Phil Jackson won 11. Red Auerbach picked up nine of his own, with eight of those coming in a row.

John Kundla and Pat Riley each won five, with all but one of those coming with the Los Angeles Lakers.

San Antonio Spurs' head man Gregg Popovich hoisted the championship trophy four times, and seven others celebrated titles on two occasions.

Even coaches like Al Attles, Doc Rivers, Bill Fitch, Dick Motta, Jack Ramsey and Paul Westhead have won it all at least once.

Last season, it seemed that Miami Heat coach Erik Spoelstra would win his first, but it was not meant to be; Rick Carlisle and the Dallas Mavericks took it instead.

The following slides will focus on the greatest coaches in the league that have never had the honor of calling themselves an NBA champion as a coach.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow Utah Jazz from B/R on Facebook

Follow Utah Jazz from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Utah Jazz

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.