NCAA Tournament 2012: 7 Biggest Championship Game Upsets

« Prev
1 of 8
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NCAA Tournament 2012: 7 Biggest Championship Game Upsets
Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

The national championship game is something everyone gets excited about.

From games between the top two teams (the way you hope it is) to games between mid-majors and a powerhouse, the national title game has something for everyone.

From the first title won by Oregon (1939) to last year's champion (Connecticut), there have been 35 different schools that have won national titles, with UCLA winning the most with 11.

The following is the top seven upsets of all time in the national title game.

It would have been eight had Gordon Heyward's halfcourt shot gone in in the 2010 title game against Duke.

Although there have been 72 title games, for the most part the better of the two teams have won the game—except for these seven.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.