View from the Victory, Volume 22: Building a Foundation for Next Season

Jo-Ryan SalazarSenior Analyst IMarch 16, 2012

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 16: Victory fans hold up a sign for Carlos Hernandez during the round 24 A-League match between Melbourne Victory and the Wellington Phoenix at AAMI Park on March 16, 2012 in Melbourne, Australia.  (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)
Robert Cianflone/Getty Images

With all hopes for the playoffs already done and dusted, Jim Magilton's Melbourne Victory looked to finish the year strong as they hosted the Wellington Phoenix on Friday at AAMI Park.

One of the new signings for the Victory was Adama Traore, who signed a two-year deal with the club after a spell with Gold Coast United.

 “I’m excited to be moving to Melbourne Victory and look forward to taking the next step in my football career,” Traore said. “I’m very grateful to everyone at Gold Coast United and have made some good friends through some tough times, but I felt this opportunity was the right move for me.”

As for Magilton, he has elected to start Tando Velaphi in goal for Melbourne in place of the embattle Ante Covic.

"It's the law of the jungle and any club that wants to remain successful, there has to be an underbelly of ability coming through or talent coming through or quality coming through," Magilton told

In addition, Tom Pondeljak was released by the Victory after 78 appearances for Melbourne.

Wellington had already qualified for the postseason and were looking to build some momentum heading into the finals series.

However, the Phoenix would be reduced to ashes as Melbourne played the type of football that was lacking from them all year in a 3-0 pasting on Wellington.

Carlos Hernandez scored in the 11th minute for Melbourne, Isaka Cernak made it 2-0 in the 58th minute and James Jeggo sealed the deal in the 89th minute of play.

The Melbourne Victory end the 2011-12 season next weekend when they take on Perth Glory at nib Stadium in Perth, WA. Kickoff is scheduled for Mar. 24 at 6:30 p.m. and will be televised by Fox Sports 1.