Selection Sunday Bracketology: Kentucky Locks Up Overall No. 1 Seed

Jesse KramerCorrespondent IMarch 11, 2012

NEW ORLEANS, LA - MARCH 10:  Doron Lamb #20 of the Kentucky Wildcats controls the ball against the defense of Erving Walker #11 of the Florida Gators in the second half during the semifinals of the SEC Men's Basketball Tournament at New Orleans Arena on March 10, 2012 in New Orleans, Louisiana.  (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Here's the final edition of my bracketology for the 2011-12 season.

As the final conference championship games are completed throughout the day, I will continue updating this article accordingly. 

With the 68-team format, there will be four play-in games. There will be two play-in games for the bottom four at-large teams and two play-in games for the bottom four conference tournament winners who earned automatic bids.

In the bracket, the winner of the South Region plays the winner of the West Region, and the winner of the Midwest Region plays the winner of the East Region.

The South Region and the West Region hold the overall No. 1 and No. 4 seeds, respectively. The East Region and Midwest Region hold the overall No. 2 and No. 3 seeds, respectively.

Automatic bids: UNC-Asheville (Big South), Murray State (OVC), Belmont (A-Sun), Creighton (MVC), Loyola-MD (MAAC), VCU (CAA), Davidson (SoCon), St. Mary's (WCC), Western Kentucky (Sun Belt), Detroit (Horizon), South Dakota State (Summit), LIU (NEC), Lehigh (Patriot), and Montana (Big Sky), Harvard (Ivy), Vermont (A-East), Memphis (C-USA), Norfolk State (MEAC), Lamar (Southland), Missouri (Big 12), Colorado (Pac-12), New Mexico (MWC), Ohio (MAC), Mississippi Valley State (SWAC), Louisville (Big East), Long Beach State (Big West), New Mexico State (WAC), Saint Bonaventure (A-10), Florida State (ACC), Vanderbilt (SEC), Michigan State (Big Ten).

South Region

No. 1 Kentucky vs. No. 16 Miss. Valley State (SWAC)/Western Kentucky (Sun Belt)

Regardless of the outcome of the SEC Championship game, Kentucky should be the overall No. 1 seed in the 2012 NCAA tournament.
Regardless of the outcome of the SEC Championship game, Kentucky should be the overall No. 1 seed in the 2012 NCAA tournament.Chris Graythen/Getty Images


No. 8 Kansas State vs. No. 9 Connecticut

No. 5 Murray State (OVC) vs. No. 12 Brigham Young/South Florida

No. 4 Wisconsin vs. No. 13 Saint Bonaventure (A-10)

No. 6 New Mexico (MWC) vs. No. 11 Long Beach State (Big West)

No. 3 Baylor vs. No. 14 Loyola-MD (MAAC)

No. 7 Cincinnati vs. No. 10 West Virginia

No. 2 Duke vs. No. 15 Montana (Big Sky)


West Region

No. 1 North Carolina vs. No. 16 Norfolk State (MEAC)

No. 8 Memphis (C-USA) vs. No. 9 Virginia

No. 5 Vanderbilt (SEC) vs. No. 12 Colorado (Pac-12)

No. 4 Indiana vs. No. 13 Virginia Commonwealth (CAA)

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - MARCH 10:  Trey Burke #3 of the Michigan Wolverines attempts to control the ball against Lenzelle Smith, Jr. #32 of the Ohio State Buckeyes during their Semifinal game of the 2012 Big Ten Men's Basketball Conference Tournament at Banker
Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images


No. 6 Florida vs. No. 11 Harvard (Ivy)

No. 3 Louisville vs. No. 14 New Mexico State (WAC)

No. 7 Temple vs. No. 10 Texas

No. 2 Kansas vs. No. 15 Detroit (Horizon)


East Region

No. 1 Syracuse vs. No. 16 Vermont (A-East)/Lamar (Southland)

No. 8 Iowa State vs. No. 9 Saint Louis

No. 5 UNLV vs. No. 12 Seton Hall/California

No. 4 Florida State (ACC) vs. No. 13 Ohio (MAC)

No. 6 Notre Dame vs. No. 11 Xavier

No. 3 Michigan vs. No. 14 Davidson (SoCon)

No. 7 St. Mary's (WCC) vs. No. 10 Alabama


No. 2 Ohio State vs. No. 15 LIU-Brooklyn (NEC)



Midwest Region

No. 1 Michigan State (Big Ten) vs. No. 16 UNC-Asheville (Big South)

No. 8 San Diego State vs. No. 9 Purdue

No. 5 Wichita State vs. No. 12 NC State

No. 4 Georgetown vs. No. 13 South Dakota State (Summit)

No. 6 Creighton (MVC) vs. No. 11 Colorado State

No. 3 Marquette vs. No. 14 Belmont (A-Sun)

No. 7 Gonzaga vs. No. 10 Southern Miss

No. 2 Missouri (Big 12) vs. No. 15 Lehigh (Patriot)


Last Four In

Seton Hall, Brigham Young, South Florida, California

First Four Out

Mississippi State, Drexel, Washington, Iona

Next Four Out

Mississippi, Miami-FL, Dayton, Northwestern