Abandoned: The History of the WCW World Tag Team Championship, Pt. 1

« Prev
1 of 77
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Abandoned: The History of the WCW World Tag Team Championship, Pt. 1

Throughout history, professional wrestling has seen many championships.

In WWE, there are six major titles. Not many know that the company has had a total of at least 19 different titles, 13 of which have been abandoned for one reason or another.

The other two major companies owned by WWE are WCW and ECW, which have at least 15 abandoned and forgotten titles between them.

For as long as it takes, I will be concentrating on those forgotten titles.

Each slide will feature the champion, who they defeated, where and when they won it, the length of their title reign, any special circumstances that happened during their reign and a bit of commentary.

Belts with a lengthy history will get their own articles and may be broken up into two depending on the length.

For this edition of Abandoned, I present part one of the WCW World Tag Team Championship.

The titles were established in 1975 for Jim Crockett Promotions as the NWA Mid-Atlantic Tag Team Championship.

The titles appeared throughout the Mid-Atlantic territories, including Georgia Championship Wrestling and Mid-Atlantic Championship Wrestling.

When MACW became WCW and began to withdraw from the NWA, the titles were renamed as such.

WCW continued to use the NWA tag belts until the NWA created one prime Tag Team Championship using those titles.

The titles were abandoned in 2001 after WWF bought and shut down WCW.

Throughout its 26-year history, the titles have seen 145 champions.

For Part 1, you’ll see the first 75 champions. So let’s get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.