Justine Henin Wins the Laureus Sportswoman of the Year

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Justine Henin Wins the Laureus Sportswoman of the Year

Justine Henin has won the Laureus Sportswoman of the Year Award 2008.

The Laureus is the premier annual sports award, and is the international sporting world's version of the Oscars in terms of depth and prestige. Justine was honored for her stunning 2007 season in which she won 63 out of 67 matches. She was victorious at Roland Garros, US Open, the WTA Championships, and seven other tournaments.

Justine was voted by a panel of the world's leading sports editors, journalists, and broadcasters from over 80 countries. A final selection was done by the Laureus World Academy members. Justine defeated Russian pole vaulter Yelena Isinbayeva, Swedish heptathlonienne Carolina Kluft, Australian swimmer Libby Lenton, Brazilian footballer Marta da Silva, and golfer Mexican Lorena Ochoa for the Laureus Award Sportswoman of The Year.

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.