2012 Slam Dunk Contest: Add Derrick Rose to the Ballot

Al RiegerCorrespondent IJanuary 13, 2012

MIAMI, FL - MAY 24:  Derrick Rose #1 of the Chicago Bulls dunks against LeBron James #6 and Mike Bibby #0 of the Miami Heat in Game Four of the Eastern Conference Finals during the 2011 NBA Playoffs on May 24, 2011 at American Airlines Arena in Miami, Florida. NOTE TO USER: User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and or using this photograph, User is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement.  (Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)
Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

Ten players are on the ballot for the 2012 Slam Dunk Contest at the Amway Center in Orlando, Florida. Derrick Rose is not one of them.  

Rose has been dunking since middle school.  It's no mystery that he can go upstairs, but for some reason he was not chosen to participate.

Surely fans won't be disappointed this February as the NBA's best athletes show off their most creative rim rattling slams.  Nowadays, its about what kind of prop you can incorporate into the dunk. Maybe Griffin will jump over an SUV this time.

Currently though, there are no superstars on the ballot.  Blake Griffin leads the votes with Russel Westbrook in a distant second.  In last place is Brian Cardinal, summoning a meager 54 votes.  I say let Cardinal take Rose's place in the skills challenge (he's a great dribbler for a big man) and let Rose show of some more of that 40-inch vertical.  

It's always a treat when D.Rose slams it in because it doesn't happen every game.  Like Rhona Mitra's teasing shower scene in the movie Hollow Man, it just keeps you wanting more.

In 12 games, I've seen him dunk just twice.  The latest, a one-handed alley-oop against the Orlando Magic pulled me outta my chair chanting "M-V-P."

In any event, Rose will be a big attraction during All-Star weekend.  Early results has Rose first in votes for eastern conference guards with Dwyane Wade close behind.  

Rose is likely the only Bull who will make it to Orlando, however, Luol Deng, Carlos Boozer and Joakim Noah are still on the ballot.  

You can vote here.