NBA MVP Award: LeBron James, Michael Jordan and the 10 Back-to-Back MVP Winners

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NBA MVP Award: LeBron James, Michael Jordan and the 10 Back-to-Back MVP Winners
Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

In 2011, Derrick Rose, at the age of 22, became the youngest Most Valuable Player in NBA history.  He has a chance now to become the youngest back-to-back MVP winner, too.

And he's working it.

On Christmas Day in the season opener, Rose floated the game-winner against Kobe Bryant and the L.A. Lakers with 4.8 seconds left on the clock—after rallying from 11 points down, late.

Since then, Rose, with a little help from his friends Carlos Boozer and Luol Deng, has led the Chicago Bulls to a 7-2 record, leading the team in scoring for five of those seven wins. In both losses, Rose was contained.

It brings up the MVP questions: Where would the Bulls be without Rose?

If he and the Bulls keep it up, will it be enough for Rose to win MVP again?

As of the first few weeks of the season, it looks like there are a small handful of players in the running (Kevin Durant? Blake Griffin? Chris Paul? Carmelo Anthony?) but primarily one person standing in his way—one big person.

LeBron James is going off, and so are the Miami Heat (who are now 8-1 with no signs of slowing down).

But if Rose can stave off James and any other competition for the Maurice Podoloff Trophy, he will join this list.  These are the 10 NBAers who have won back-to-back MVPs.

They're all Hall of Famers, of course (or will be).  Will Rose be one too?  It's early.  Very early.  That's a topic for another slideshow some years into the future.

But if Rose maintains this pace, back-to-back MVPs or no back-to-back MVPs, he's on his way.  A championship or two would certainly help either case.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.